Jan 12, 2021 1:43 PM

Trish Giordano elected chair of the Geary County Commission

Posted Jan 12, 2021 1:43 PM
Geary County Commission Chair Trish Giordano
Geary County Commission Chair Trish Giordano

Geary County Commissioners conducted their annual reorganization Monday which included the election of Trish Giorano as chair of the governing body. Keith Ascher will serve as vice chair and Alex Tyson as secretary.

Giordano, Ascher and Commissioner Alex Tyson took their oaths of office along with other county elected officials. 

Giordano was honored to be elected commission chair. "It's a huge responsibility and I'll be sure to lean on my vice chair down there who's the old pro at it." Keith Ascher served as the chair during the past year and has spent four years on the commission.

Giordano will serve a two-year term  while Ascher and Tyson will serve four-year terms. Giordano is serving the remainder of the four-year term initially held by the late R. Ben Bennett.

As part of the annual county commission reorganization there were appointments of individual commissioners to a number of boards and committees. 

Giordano will represent the governing body on the Economic Development Commission, the County Risk Management Committee, the Flint Hills Regional Council and Heartland Works. Giordano will also be attending Geary Community Hospital Trustees meetings.

Ascher will serve on the Public Building Commission,  Solid Waste Management Planning Committee, the Regional Juvenile Dentention Center board, and to the Metropolitan Planning Organization ( MPO ).

Tyson will serve as on the Military Affairs Council, aTa Bus board, Local Emergency Planning Committee, and the Chamber of Commerce board.

Also taking their oaths of office for new terms were Geary County Clerk, Daniel Jackson Sheriff, Diane Briestensky-Leonard Register of Deeds and Krista Blaisdell, Geary County Attorney.