Nov 15, 2020 2:59 AM

Geary County posts official election results

Posted Nov 15, 2020 2:59 AM

There will be two new county commissioners in Geary County following the final canvass of the votes from the Nov. 3 elections.

Voters elected Patricia Giordano with 2,219 votes for the 1st District seat on the county commission. Brad Scholz received 1,944 votes.

In the 2nd District seat on the county commission voters have elected Alex Tyson with 1,633 votes compared to 1,396 for Charles Stimatze. 

Stimatze was the incumbent commission candidate in the 2nd District while Scholz was appointed to the governing body early last year following the death of former commissioner Ben Bennett. Giordano was elected to a two-year term since she will be serving out the remainder of Bennett's original four-year term. Tyson was elected to a four-year term.

In the county clerk's race incumbent Rebecca Nordyke defeated Diana Dean 5,584 to 3,787 votes.

Voter turnout for the election was 55.87%.

The official election results are posted on the Geary County web site.