Nov 13, 2020 7:45 PM

8th Judicial District Nominating Commission extends deadline for nominations for magistrate judge

Posted Nov 13, 2020 7:45 PM

The 8th Judicial District Nominating Commission is extending the deadline to receive nominations to fill a vacancy for district magistrate judge in Geary County created by Judge Charles Zimmerman's Jan. 11 retirement.

The commission received two nominations by a noon deadline Nov. 5. Geary, Dickinson, Morris and Marion counties are included in the 8th Judicial District.

Nominations must be a nomination form available from the clerk of the district in one of the four counties or the clerk of the appellate courts in the Kansas Judicial Center in Topeka. 

The commission will convene to interview nominees at 9 a.m. Monday, Dec. 21 at the Geary County 4-H / Senior Center.  Interviews are open to the public.

Kansas law requires that a district magistrate judge be a resident of Geary County at the time of taking office and while holding office, a graduate of a high school, secondary school or the equivalent, and either a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas or able to pass an examination given by the Kansas Supreme Court to become certified within 18 months.