Jul 10, 2024

Kansas 4-H names state project award winners

Posted Jul 10, 2024 10:00 PM
Jonas Kern Barton County -courtesy photo
Jonas Kern Barton County -courtesy photo

MANHATTAN, Kan. – The Kansas 4-H Youth Development program has recognized more than two dozen youth as state project award winners.

Sarah Maass, state leader for the Kansas 4-H program, said “being a state project winner indicates prior excellence and points to (youth’s) future potential.”

“Youth must display leadership skills and hearts for service by organizing events like community service projects, project meetings to share their expertise with younger 4-H members, and other unique efforts,” Maass said.

One state winner is selected yearly from the senior division (ages 14-18) in 27 project categories. Kansas 4-H youth submit a project report form, a summary of their work in a certain project.

Maass notes that in addition to learning new project skills, these youth must also demonstrate growth and strength in leadership, organization, civic engagement, and communication within the project.

This year’s project winners are:

Beef – Lyle Perrier, Greenwood County.

Civic Engagement – Ariana Baltazor, Central Kansas District – Saline County.

Clothing and Textiles – Vanessa Jones, Pottawatomie County.

Communications – Grace Oard, Sedgwick County.

Dairy – Alexander Young, Chisholm Trail District – Marion County.

Dog Care and Training – Lydia Walker, Phillips-Rooks District – Phillips County.

Entomology – Renatta Heintz, Chisholm Trail District - Dickinson County.

Fiber Arts – Allison Rose, Chisholm Trail District - Dickinson County.

Foods and Nutrition – Kierra Eck, Midway District – Russell County.

Geology – Knox Crouch, Sedgwick County.

Horse – Faith Beesley, Wild West District – Stevens County.

Leadership – Elizabeth ‘Ellie’ Seeger, McPherson County. 

Meat Goats – Kayla George, West Plains District – Finney County.

Performing Arts – Tobias Grubbs, Wild West District – Stevens County.

Photography – Norman Jurgensen, Marshall County.

Plant Science – Isaiah Manus, Leavenworth County.

Poultry – Dalton Peters, Meadowlark District – Jackson County.

Rabbits – Alena Wiebers, Riley County.

Reading – Lexi Wright, Wild West District – Haskell County.

Self-Determined – Jarrett Abel, Meadowlark District – Jackson County.

Sheep – Brady Hoffman, Sedgwick County.

Shooting Sports – Elisha Staggers, Wild West District – Stevens County.

STEM – Maggie Brummett, Riley County.

STEM: Energy Management – Jarrett Birk, Southwind District – Woodson County.

Swine – Jacob DeRouchey, Pottawatomie County.

Visual Arts – Brynna Anderson, Central Kansas District – Saline County.

Wildlife – Jonas Kern, Cottonwood District – Barton County.

Wood Science – Karson Kahler, Meadowlark District – Jefferson County.

Award winners were recognized during the Emerald Circle celebration, hosted each year by the Kansas 4-H Foundation. Officials say project report forms progress through county, regional and statewide evaluations before the state winner in each project area is named.

State 4-H project award winners are also eligible to attend the National 4-H Congress in Atlanta, Georgia, in November. Numerous donors provide support for project winner’s trip to the National 4-H Congress, through the Kansas 4-H Foundation.

More information about opportunities available through the Kansas 4-H Youth Development program is available online.